Four Lady Vols Earn SEC Basketball Awards

March 2, 2010

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its 2010 women's basketball postseason awards Tuesday, highlighted by Kentucky's Victoria Dunlap being named Player of the Year and Matthew Mitchell being named Coach of the Year. Mississippi State's Armelie Lumanu was named Defensive Player of the Year, Alyssia Brewer was named 6th Woman of the Year, while Kentucky's A'dia Mathies was given Freshman of the Year honors. First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive Player, 6th Woman and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league's 12 coaches.

The 2010 SEC Women's Basketball Tournament begins Thursday, March 4 and runs through Sunday, March 7 in Duluth, Ga.

The complete 2010 SEC Women's Basketball Postseason Awards follow.

First Team All-SEC
Ashley Houts, UG
*Victoria Dunlap, UK
*Allison Hightower, LSU
Bianca Thomas, UM
Alexis Rack, MSU
*Angie Bjorklund, UT
Kelley Cain, UT
Jence Rhoads, VU

Second Team All-SEC
Alli Smalley, AU
A'dia Mathies, UK
Shekinna Stricklen, UT
LaSondra Barrett, LSU
Armelie Lumanu, MSU
Kelsey Bone, SC
Valerie Nainima, SC
Merideth Marsh, VU

All-Freshman Team
Morgan Toles, AU
Jennifer George, UF
Jasmine Hassell, UG
*Jasmine James, UG
*A'dia Mathies, UK
*Kelsey Bone, SC
Elan Brown, VU
*Tiffany Clarke, VU

All-Defensive Team
Victoria Dunlap, UK
Allison Hightower, LSU
Armelie Lumanu, MSU
Chanel Mokango, MSU
Kelley Cain, UT

Coach of the Year
Matthew Mitchell, Kentucky

Player of the Year
Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky

Freshman of the Year
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky

Defensive Player of the Year
Armelie Lumanu, Mississippi State

6th Woman of the Year
Alyssia Brewer, Tennessee

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee

* - indicates unanimous choice





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago