Women's Basketball Home
Tennessee Sports
Buy Tickets Tenn Fund


Candace Parker

Candace Parker

March 13, 2007

ATLANTA, Ga. - University of Tennessee basketball player Candace Parker has been named a finalist for the 2007 State Farm Wade Trophy. The State Farm Wade Trophy Committee along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) announced the 12 finalists in contention for The State Farm Wade Trophy on Tuesday.

Parker, a 6-foot-4 sophomore from Naperville, Ill., is a leading contender and finalist for a plethora of national awards this season. Among them, the John R. Wooden Award, the Naismith Award and Kodak All-America honors. The fastest player in UT history to amass 1,000 career points, Parker has been named SEC Player of the Year and an ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American already this season. She leads the team in scoring, rebounding and blocked shots and has 18 double-doubles on the year.

The last Lady Vol to garner Wade Trophy honors was Daedra Charles in 1991.

"These 12 student-athletes are each deserving of The State Farm Wade Trophy, considering their dedication to the institution, coach and teammates as a leader both on and off of the court," said WBCA CEO, Beth Bass. "Any of these student-athletes would capture the essence of Lily Margaret Wade and would be deserving of this year's award."

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Division I Kodak/WBCA All-America Team and will be announced at the Kodak/WBCA All-America Team Press Conference and The State Farm Wade Trophy Announcement during the WBCA National Convention on Saturday, March 31, 2007, at 9:45 a.m. (ET).

"Congratulations to all of this year's State Farm Wade Trophy finalists," said Mark D. Gibson, Assistant Vice President - Advertising at State Farm. "These student-athletes have displayed accomplishment on and off the court and this recognition is one step to them fulfilling the rest of their basketball dreams."

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 30th year is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy recipient was Seimone Augustus (Louisiana State University), becoming the second State Farm Wade Trophy recipient to receive the award twice. The other two-time recipient was Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980). The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003).

About State Farm

State Farm(r) insures more cars than any other insurer in North America and is the leading U.S. home insurer. State Farm's 17,000 agents and 68,000 employees serve over 75 million auto, fire, life and health policies in the United States and Canada, and more than 1.6 million bank accounts. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company is the parent of the State Farm family of companies. State Farm is ranked No.22 on the Fortune 500 list of largest companies. For more information, please visit statefarm.com(r) or in Canada statefarm.ca(tm).

Founded in 1981, the WBCA promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as a sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, please visit WBCA.org.

The State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists:
Alison BalesDuke UniversitySeniorCenter
Jessica DavenportOhio State UniversitySeniorCenter
Sylvia FowlesLouisiana State UniversityJuniorCenter
Katie GearldsPurdue UniversitySeniorGuard/Forward
Lindsey HardingDuke UniversitySeniorGuard
Crystal LanghorneUniversity of MarylandJuniorCenter/Forward
Ivory LattaUniversity of North CarolinaSeniorGuard
Courtney ParisUniversity of OklahomaSophomoreCenter
Candace ParkerUniversity of TennesseeSophomore (RS)Forward
Bernice MosbyBaylor UniversitySeniorForward
Noelle QuinnUCLASeniorGuard
Candice WigginsStanford UniversityJuniorGuard



Official Online Store

This week on sale:

    Tennessee Auction

    BID NOW! >>

    Replay Photo Store
    Replay Photo Store
    Vol Network Promotions
    Vol Network Promotions