Women's Basketball Home
Tennessee Sports
Buy Tickets Tenn Fund
ALERT
BUTCH JONES NAMED VOLS' NEW FOOTBALL COACH. CLICK HERE FOR FULL STORY »

ROSTER » SCHEDULE » COACHES » FACILITIES » STATS » NEWS » HISTORY

LADY VOL HOOPS CENTRAL: NCAA Sweet 16

March 29, 2013




#2 TENNESSEE VS. #6 OKLAHOMA
March 31, 2013   |   4:35 p.m. ET
Chesapeake Energy Arena   |   Oklahoma City, Okla.

SWEET 16 TIP-OFF
  • #10/9 Tennessee (26-7), the No. 6 seed in the Oklahoma City Region, will meet No. 6 seed Oklahoma (24-10) on Sunday at 4:35 p.m. Eastern time (3:35 p.m. Central) in an NCAA Sweet 16 game at Chesapeake Energy Arena.


  • The Lady Vols will face the Sooners at the home of the NBA's Oklahoma City Thunder in a venue that is only about a 30-minute drive from OU's Lloyd Noble Center in Norman.


  • The winner of that contest will meet the victor of the other Oklahoma City Regional semifinal, an approximately 6 p.m. CT (7 p.m. ET) matchup on Sunday between No. 1 Baylor (34-1) and No. 5 Louisville (26-8).


  • Tennessee is making its 31st appearance in the NCAA Sweet 16, failing to make the regional round only once in the 32-year history of the women's tournament (2009).


  • The Lady Vols have produced a 25-5 record all-time in their previous 30 trips to the regional semifinal round and are 114-23 all-time in 137 NCAA tournament contests.


  • This marks the sixth meeting in a series that dates back to 2002, with Tennessee holding a 4-1 advantage, including 1-1 in the Sooner State.



 

 

Official Online Store

This week on sale:

    Tennessee Auction

    BID NOW! >>