Johnson NCAA Woman of the Year Nominee
Glory Johnson

June 1, 2012

DESTIN, Fla.- Tennessee basketball player Glory Johnson and Alabama golfer Brooke Pancake have been selected by the Southeastern Conference Senior Woman Administrators as the SEC's nominees for the 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year Award, the conference announced on Friday.

The NCAA asks each conference to submit nominees, which are then paired down to 30 - 10 from each NCAA division - by a selection committee. The committee then chooses three finalists from each division. From the nine finalists, the NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics selects the Woman of the Year.

"Brooke and Glory are great examples of the ideal student-athlete," said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive. "They, as well as all of our nominees, work hard in their respective sports, their studies and in their communities. Each succeeds at the highest level in all phases, and we are proud to recognize them and their achievements."

Johnson finished her Lady Vol career as first-team All-SEC in 2011-12 after leading the conference in rebounds, ranking fifth in scoring and seventh in blocked shots. She was the SEC Defensive Player of the Year in 2011-12 and is just the fourth Lady Vol ever to eclipse 1,000 points, 1,000 rebounds in a career. She was also first-team All-SEC in 2010-11 and finished her career as the school's second leading career rebounder before being selected fourth overall by the Tulsa Shock in the 2012 WNBA Draft. She received her B.A. in interdisciplinary studies at UT in just three years.

Pancake helped lead the Crimson Tide to the 2012 NCAA Women's Golf National Championship. In the process, she finished runner-up in the individual competition. She was named first-team National Golf Coaches Association first-team All-American. She is a three-time All-American, twice garnering first-team honors. She is a three-time NGCA Scholar-Athlete and won the 2011 Edith Cummings Munson Golf Award for the All-American with the highest GPA. She was an Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-American in 2011 (2012 team to be announced on June 7).

Now in its 22nd year, the NCAA Woman of the Year Award honors female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academic achievement, athletics excellence, community service and leadership. To be eligible for the award, a female student-athlete must have completed intercollegiate eligibility in her primary sport by the end of the 2012 spring season, graduated no later than the end of the summer 2012 term and achieved a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 2.5.

Along with Pancake and Johnson, the following student-athletes were nominated by SEC institutions: Jaime Pisani, Arkansas (gymnastics); Katy Frierson, Auburn (soccer); Michelle Moultrie, Florida (softball); Wendy Trott, Georgia (swimming & diving); Ann Armes, Kentucky (volleyball); Keyla Snowden, Kentucky (basketball); Brittany Mack, LSU (softball); Meredith Snow, Ole Miss (soccer); Regina Thomas, Ole Miss (volleyball); Katie Burnett, South Carolina (golf); Natalie Pluskota, Tennessee (tennis); and, Marina Alex, Vanderbilt (golf).

In its 21 year history, the SEC has had six previous NCAA Woman of the Year honorees. The latest recipient was Tennessee basketball player Nicky Anosike. The first SEC recipient was Tennessee swimmer Catherine Byrne in 1992. Other SEC recipients include Georgia swimmer Lisa Ann Coole (1997), Georgia swimmer Kristy Kowal (2000), Georgia swimmer Kim Black (2001) and Tennessee diver Lauryn McCalley (2005).





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago