Two Lady Vols On All-WNBA Squad
Tamika Catchings made the All-WNBA First Team for the seventh time.

Oct. 17, 2012

NEW YORK - Former Tennessee standouts Tamika Catchings and Candace Parker were named to the five-player All-WNBA First Team, the league announced Wednesday.

Parker, of the Los Angeles Sparks (176), and Catchings, of the Indiana Fever (161), joined Tina Charles (Connecticut Sun), Cappie Pondexter (New York) and Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx) to round out the first team.

Voting for the All-WNBA First and Second Teams was conducted by a panel of 41 national and local sportswriters and broadcasters at the conclusion of the regular season. Players were selected by position and received five points for each first-team vote and three points for each second-team designation.

This marks the seventh first-team honor for Catchings and the second such honor for Parker.

Catchings, the WNBA's Most Valuable Player a year ago, this season extended her own league record for WNBA Defensive Player of the Year presented by Boost Mobile honors, winning the award for a fifth time. Catchings led the current Fever squad to a 22-12 mark in the regular season, averaging 17.4 points, 7.6 rebounds, 3.1 assists, and 2.1 steals. She has since guided the Fever to the WNBA Finals.

The runner-up to Charles as the 2012 WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Boost Mobile, Parker led Los Angeles back to the playoffs, where the Sparks reached the Western Conference Finals. Parker finished the regular season ranked first in the league in blocks (2.3 bpg), tied for first in double-doubles (18, along with Tina Charles), third in rebounds (9.7 rpg), and seventh in scoring (17.4 ppg).

Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore and Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles highlight the 2012 All-WNBA Second Team. Los Angeles Sparks guard Kristi Toliver, Lynx guard Lindsay Whalen, and San Antonio Silver Stars forward Sophia Young round out the second team.

In honor of being named to the All-WNBA First and Second Teams, each player will receive a Tiffany & Co. designed trophy. In addition, $10,000 will be awarded to each member of the first team, while each member of the second team will receive $5,000.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago