Catchings Wins First WNBA Title

Oct. 21, 2012


In her 11th pro season, former Lady Vols star Tamika Catchings finally captured her first WNBA Championship on Sunday night. Catchings scored 25 points, handed out eight assists and grabbed four rebounds to help lead the Indiana Fever to their first-ever WNBA title with an 87-78 victory over the Minnesota Lynx.

Catchings was named the Finals MVP.

Catchings, was named to the WNBA first-team for the seventh time in her career this season. She was also named WNBA Defensive Player of the Year for the fifth time this season.

Catchings led the Fever squad to a 22-12 mark in the regular season, averaging 17.4 points, 7.6 rebounds, 3.1 assists, and 2.1 steals.

Catchings is the eighth Tennessee player to win a WNBA Championship including one in each of the last three seasons.

Fever assistant coach Mickie DeMoss previously served with the Tennessee as an assistant with the Lady Vols on two occasions.

Tennessee's WNBA Champions
1997 Tiffany Woosley, Houston Comets
1998 Tiffany Woosley, Houston Comets
2000 Tiffani Johnson, Houston Comets
2005 Kara Lawson, Sacramento Monarchs
2008 Alexis Hornbuckle, Detroit Shock
2010 Ashley Robinson, Seattle Storm
2011 Alexis Hornbuckle, Minnesota Lynx
2012 Tamika Catchings, Indiana Fever





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago