Lady Vols Make 22nd Consecutive NCAA Regional

April 28, 2014

For the 22nd consecutive season, the Tennessee women's golf team has made the NCAA Regional tournament.

On Monday, the NCAA Division I Women's Golf Committee announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Regionals.

"We are thrilled to have made the NCAA field for the 22nd consecutive time," head coach Judi Pavon said. "We struggled this season, but we will head to Washington with a clean slate and play our best in an attempt to qualify for the NCAA Final in Tulsa."

Coming off a 13th place finish at the SEC Championship, the Lady Vols will compete in the West Region and travel to Cle Elum, Wash., to play the Tumble Creek Club at Suncadia Resort. The University of Washington is the site host.

The west coast trip will be a homecoming for senior Chessey Thomas, a native of Spokane, Wash.

"I'm super excited to be headed back to my home state for a second time," Thomas said. "Golf courses in the Pacific Northwest are always in great shape and unique. I am biased but I think us heading west is a great draw."

The Tennessee women's golf program has competed in the NCAA Regionals every year since the inception of the program (1992-93 season).

Three regional tournaments will be conducted May 8-10 to determine the championships field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition, and all national championships policies apply.

A total of 378 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.

The championships finals will be held May 20-23 at Tulsa Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma and will be co-hosted by Tulsa and the Tulsa Sports Commission.

The other regional sites are Tallahassee, Fla., and Stillwater, Okla.

Washington Regional

1. Southern California
2. Arizona State University
3. Oklahoma (Big 12)
4. Washington
5. Clemson
6. Wake Forest
7. Northwestern
8. Michigan State (Big Ten)
9. Iowa State
10. GRU-Augusta
11. Oregon
12. Texas A&M
13. UC Davis (Big West)
14. Denver (The Summit League)
15. San Diego State
16. Wisconsin
17. Gonzaga
18. Notre Dame
20. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
21. New Mexico (Mountain West)
22. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
23. Portland State (Big Sky)
24. Detroit (Horizon)

1. Alison Knowles, Louisiana-Monroe
2. Regan De Guzman, San Jose State
3. Clariss Guce, Cal State Northridge
4. Fabiola Arriaga, UTSA
5. Madchen Ly, Fresno State
6. Alexandra White, BYU





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago