Rossi Named to 2007 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List

Rossi Named to 2007 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List

Kylee Rossi

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. ??? Tennessee junior forward Kylee Rossi is one of 45 student-athletes named to the Missouri Athletic Club's (M.A.C.) 2007 Hermann Trophy Preseason Watch List as announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) on Wednesday.

Rossi, last year???s Southeastern Conference Offensive Player of the Year, returns along with eight other starters from head coach Angela Kelly???s squad that compiled a 12-7-4 overall record and made their fourth trip to the NCAA Sweet 16 in five years. The Pennington, N.J., native led the Lady Vols last year with 25 points on 10 goals and five assists, while garnering a spot on the Top Drawer Soccer National Team of the Season and a Soccer Buzz All-Central Region selection. Rossi is one of four SEC athletes recognized by the NSCAA, with Florida midfielder Ameera Abdullah, forward Stacy Bishop and defender Lauren Hyde also earning spots on the list.

Defending national champion North Carolina led all schools with four selections, including 2006 finalist Yael Averbuch, while three schools, including 2005 national champion Portland, each placed three players on the list. Nine schools had two selections. Notre Dame???s Karri Hanks, the 2006 Hermann Trophy winner, is also included on the watch list for her junior season.

The Hermann Trophy is presented yearly to the top male and female Division I college soccer players in the United States. The award represents the highest level of individual achievement in the sport. Past winners include current and former U.S. National Team members Kristine Lilly, Mia Hamm and Shannon MacMillan.

Players are selected to the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List by a committee of Division I coaches who are NSCAA members. In November, the list will be narrowed to 15 semifinalists. Three finalists will be named in early December in conjunction with the NCAA Division I College Cup and will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, January 11, 2008. The winner of the 2007 award will be announced during a nationally-televised news conference that evening.

Rossi and the Lady Vols open the 2007 season hosting Penn State in the First Tennessee Lady Vol Classic at Regal Soccer Stadium on August 31 at 8 p.m.

2007 Women???s Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch List

As selected by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA)





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago