Softball Home
Tennessee Sports
Buy Tickets Tenn Fund
ALERT
BUTCH JONES NAMED VOLS' NEW FOOTBALL COACH. CLICK HERE FOR FULL STORY »

ROSTER » SCHEDULE » COACHES » FACILITIES » STATS » NEWS » HISTORY

SOFTBALL CENTRAL: #2 UT at San Diego Classic

Feb. 27, 2014

LIVE BLOG

 


Link Central
DateOpponentTimeLinks/Results
Thurs., Feb. 27BYU 6, #2 Tennessee 31 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ETRecap | Box Score
Thurs., Feb. 27#2 Tennessee 3, San Diego State 16 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ETRecap | Box Score
Fri., Feb. 28#2 Tennessee (A) vs. Colorado State11:30 a.m. PT/2:30 p.m. ETLive Audio | Live Stats
Sat. March 1#2 Tennessee (H) vs. Fresno State9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ETLive Audio | Live Stats
Sat. March 1#2 Tennessee (H) vs. Utah2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ETLive Audio | Live Stats

NO. 2/3 TENNESSEE

  • USA TODAY/NFCA Top 25 Poll (2/25): 2 (10 first-place votes)
  • ESPN.com/USA Softball Top 25 (2/25): 2 (4 first-place votes)
  • Tennessee is coming off a an 8-4 win at Cal State Fullerton on Tuesday. This past weekend, UT had 4-0 showing in the Mary Nutter Classic with wins over No. 11/12 Nebraska, Oregon State, No. 13/11 Stanford and Fresno State.
  • Ellen Renfroe was named the SEC Pitcher of the Week for the second-straight week after going 3-0 at the Mary Nutter Classic with a 0.72 ERA and one save in four appearances. Renfroe also recorded her 800th career strikeout in UT's win over Nebraska, becoming just the second Lady Vol to reach the 800 mark (Monica Abbott had an NCAA record 2,440).
  • UT is batting .345 as a team and has three players hitting over .400 in Annie Aldrete (.485 BA), Megan Geer (.447 BA) and Cheyanne Tarango (.405 BA).
  • Six Lady Vols have 10 or more RBIs. Aldrete leads the team with 14 runs driven in. Taylor Koenig ranks second with 13 RBIs. Madison Shipman and Lexi Overstreet each have 12 RBIs. Melissa Davin has driven in 11 runs and Megan Geer has 10 RBIs.
  • Renfroe has a 0.80 ERA and an 8-0 record over nine appearances and seven starts. She has thrown seven complete games in those seven starts and over 52.1 innings of work she has racked up 70 strikeouts and limited opponents to a .148 batting average.

AT A GLANCE
Series History
#2 Tennessee
(14-0)
VS.

SDSU Softball Stadium
San Diego, Calif.

BYU
(6-9)
All-Time: UT leads, 5-0
Series History (Last 3):
2/7/09, UT W, 4-0 (10)
2/25/11, UT W, 4-1
2/9/13, UT W 6-3

Thursday, Feb. 27
1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET
Notes
WP -
LP -
Tennessee has been a top-15 ranked team in each of its last four meetings agaisnt BYU (#5 in 2008, #12 in 2009, #8 in 2011, #6 in 2013)

AT A GLANCE
Series History
#2 Tennessee
(14-0)
AT

SDSU Softball Stadium
San Diego, Calif.

San Diego State
(10-5)
All-Time: UT leads, 2-0
Series History:
2/4/11, UT W, 11-3 (6)
2/22/12, UT W 6-5

Thursday, Feb. 27
6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET
Notes
WP -
LP -
Tennessee has been a top-15 ranked team in each of its two previous meetings vs. the Aztecs (#8 in 2011, #14 in 2012).

AT A GLANCE
Series History
#2 Tennessee
(14-0)
VS.

USD Softball Stadium
San Diego, Calif.

Colorado State
(7-3)
All-Time: Teams have never played each other
Series History:

Friday, Feb. 28
11:30 a.m. PT/2:30 p.m. ET
Notes
WP -
LP -
Friday's game will mark the first meeting between UT and Colorado State.

AT A GLANCE
Series History
#2 Tennessee
(14-0)
VS.

SDSU Softball Stadium
San Diego, Calif.

Fresno State
(10-5)
All-Time: UT leads, 2-1
Series History:
3/7/98, Fresno W, 11-5
2/23/07, UT W, 5-0
2/23/14, UT W, 5-4

Saturday, March 1
9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET
Notes
WP -
LP -
Tennessee notched a thrilling 5-4 comeback win over Fresno State on Feb. 23 at the Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic.

AT A GLANCE
Series History
#2 Tennessee
(14-0)
VS.

SDSU Softball Stadium
San Diego, Calif.

Utah
(6-4)
All-Time: Tied, 1-1
Series History:
2/13/98, UTAH W, 6-3 (8)
2/21/04, UT W, 4-1

Saturday, March 1
2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET
Notes
WP -
LP -
UT and Utah last played in 2004 with the Lady Vols taking a 4-1 win in Cathedral City, Calif.


 

 

Official Online Store

This week on sale:

    Tennessee Auction

    BID NOW! >>

    Replay Photo Store
    Replay Photo Store
    Vol Network Promotions
    Vol Network Promotions