Shipman: Top 10 Finalist For USA Softball Player of The Year

May 7, 2014

OKLAHOMA CITY -- Tennessee senior Madison Shipman has been named a Top Ten Finalist for the 2014 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, as announced on Wednesday by the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America and USA Softball.

This year's honor marks the fourth-consecutive year (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014) that Tennessee has had a Top Ten Finalist for USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year. It is Shipman's first time as a Top Ten Finalist. Raven Chavanne was a Top Ten Finalist from 2011-13 and Lauren Gibson was a Top Ten Finalist in 2013.

Shipman, who was named SEC Player Of The Year and earned First Team All-SEC and SEC All-Defensive honors on Tuesday, has been one of the top all-around players in the nation in 2014. Shipman is hitting a career-high .434 with 17 homers, 15 doubles, 50 RBIs, 52 runs, 38 walks and 12 stolen bases. She is also a finalist for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award.

The top three finalists selected from this list will be announced May 21, with the winner of the 2014 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award revealed on May 27, just prior to the start of the 2014 NCAA Women's College World Series on Oklahoma City. This award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women's softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

Now in its 13th year, previous recipients of the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award are UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman (2002), Texas pitcher Cat Osterman (2003, 2005 and 2006), Florida State pitcher Jessica Van der Linden (2004), Tennessee pitcher Monica Abbott (2007), Virginia Tech pitcher Angela Tincher (2008), Washington pitcher Danielle Lawrie (2009 and 2010), Stanford shortstop Ashley Hansen (2011) and Oklahoma pitcher Keilani Ricketts (2012 and 2013).

This year's finalists are comprised of four seniors, three juniors, and three sophomores. The student-athletes selected represent seven NCAA Division I universities and five athletic conferences. Alabama, Florida State and Oregon lead the way among universities with two athlete representatives each.

The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award is voted on by coaching representatives from 11 Division I Conferences in the 15 ASA Regions as well as members of the media who consistently cover Division I Softball across the country, and previous Player of the Year recipients.

Top Ten Finalists For USA Softball Collegiate Player Of The Year
Ally Carda - UCLA, P/UT
Courtney Ceo - Oregon, IF
Dallas Escobedo - Arizona State, P
Cheridan Hawkins - Oregon, P
Haylie McCleney - Alabama, OF
Maddie O'Brien - Florida State, IF
Sierra Romero - Michigan, IF
Madison Shipman - TENNESSEE, IF
Jaclyn Traina - Alabama, P
Lacey Waldrop - Florida State, P





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago