Chavanne Earns NCAA Postgrad Scholarship

June 27, 2013


Tennessee softball star Raven Chavanne has been honored with an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship. Chavanne, who was the Capital One Academic All-American of the Year for the Division I softball earlier this month, finished her decorated career with the National Finalists this spring.

Chavanne was a three-time first-team Academic All-American (2011, 2012, 2013) and the political science major had a 3.84 GPA entering the spring. The Thousand Oaks, Calif., native was also a Top 3 Finalist for USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year, a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award and an NFCA All-Southeast Region first team pick.

She was a four-time All-American and a three-time first-team pick (2011, 2012, 2013). Chavanne completed her incredible UT career as the school's all-time leader in batting average (.442), runs (244), on-base percentage (.509) and stolen bases (143). She is also second all-time in hits (355), tied for fourth in walks (101), fifth in at-bats (803), fifth in total bases (435), fifth in triples (11), eighth in sacrifice hits (24) and in ninth in slugging percentage (.542). Chavanne and Monica Abbott (2004, 2005, 2006, 2007) are the only four-time All-Americans in Tennessee softball history.

The NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship is for $7,500. To qualify for the scholarship, a student-athlete must have an overall grade-point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) or its equivalent, and must have performed with distinction as a member of the varsity team in the sport in which the student-athlete was nominated. The chosen student-athletes demonstrated dedication and effort, while performing both on and off the field at a high level, bringing credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.

Created in 1964, the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships promote and encourage education by rewarding the Association's most accomplished student-athletes.

In 2010, a pair of softball players earned NCAA Post-Graduate Scholarships as Lillian Hammond and Tiffany Huff were recognized.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago