Shipman Wins NPF Rookie of Year
Aug. 20, 2014

HOOVER, Ala. -- Tennessee softball legend Madison Shipman was received the National Pro Fastpitch Rookie of the Year award Tuesday night at the NPF's annual league awards banquet to kick off its 2014 Championship Series week.

Shipman, who stars for the USSSA Pride, and fellow UT great and Chicago Bandits ace Monica Abbott were each named to the 18-player All-NPF Team, presented by Combat Sports.

Tuesday's event is designed to celebrate individual player and team accomplishments of regular season competition.

The Rookie of the Year award, presented by Miken, returned to USSSA after a year hiatus as Shipman was named most outstanding of all newcomers. Shipman played in 44 of 48 games this season hit .344 with 28 RBI's and five home runs. Shipman led the league in doubles and anchored the USSSA Pride middle infield with a .931 fielding percentage.

The NPF Awards contenders are initially nominated by the four affiliate teams. Once nominations are compiled, a ballot is formed and voted on by an owner representative from each team. Final voting for the awards happens at the conclusion of the regular season.

The league's Championship Series begins today at the Hoover Metropolitan Stadium in Hoover, Ala. For more information or to buy tickets, go to Tickets can also be purchased at the box office on the day of the game.

Shipman has enjoyed an award-filled 2014 calendar year to date. In June she received the Honda Sports Award for Softball, joining Abbott as Tennessee's second winner of the prestigious award. Shipman also became the first Tennessee student-athlete in any sport to win the Senior CLASS Award. She earned NFCA All-American honors for a third-straight year and Capital One Academic All-America honors for a second-consecutive season. Shipman became the fourth Lady Vol to be named SEC Player of the Year and was a top 10 finalist for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award.

Tennessee won just about every major softball award there is in 2014. Along with Shipman's many awards, Ellen Renfroe was the Capital One Academic All-American of the Year and SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Annie Aldrete was the co-winner of the inaugural NFCA Freshman of the Year trophy.

2014 All NPF Team
C - Kristen Butler - (CH)
1B - Brittany Cervantes - (CH)
2B - Lauren Lappin - (PA)
3B - Andrea Duran - (US)
SS - Tammy Williams - (CH)
OF - Caitlin Lowe - (US)
OF - Natasha Watley - (US)
OF - (Tie) Megan Wiggins - (CB)
OF - (Tie) Emily Allard - (CB)
P - Cat Osterman - (US)
P - Monica Abbott - (CH)
P - Rachele Fico - (AK)
P - Michelle Gascoigne - (CH)
At Large - Nerissa Myers (AK)
At Large - Madison Shipman (US)
At Large - Sara Pauly - (PA)
At Large - Kelley Montalvo - (AK)
At Large - Ashley Thomas - (AK)
At Large - Jill Barrett - (AK)

Jennie Finch Award - Kelley Montalvo (AK)
Sponsored by NPF and presented by Crown Boulder

Diamond Spike Award (Most Stolen Bases) - Breja'e Washington (US)
Presented by Ringor

Rookie of the Year - Madison Shipman (US)
Presented by Miken

Offensive Player of the Year - Nerissa Myers (AK)
Presented by Louisville Slugger

Defensive Player of the Year - Tammy Williams (CH)
Presented by Wilson

Pitcher of the Year - Cat Osterman (US)
Presented by Diamond

Player of the Year - Andrea Duran (US)
Presented by Mizuno

Coaching Staff of the Year - Akron Racers
Presented by Schutt

Regular Season Champions - USSSA Pride
Ringor Cup presented by NPF





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago