Tennessee Captures Three ITA Regional Awards
Maria Sorbello was named ITA Regional Player to Watch

May 13, 2010

By Donnie Conley, Media Relations Student Assistant

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced its regional award winners this afternoon, and three different Ohio Valley region awards went to members of the Tennessee Women's tennis team.

Senior Caitlin Whoriskey took home Senior Player of the Year honors, while junior Maria Sorbello was named Regional Player to Watch.

Co-head coaches Mike Patrick and Sonia Hahn-Patrick were also named region Co-Head Coaches of the Year.

The honors continue to pile up for Whoriskey, who was selected to the All-SEC First Team two weeks ago. This season, she has posted a 29-11 record playing exclusively from the No. 1 singles position. She received bids to both the NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships. In doubles play, she is 33-4, pairing with both Maria Sorbello (14-3) and Natalie Pluskota (19-1).

Regional Player to Watch--which was awarded to Maria Sorbello--goes to "a player who has an outstanding season and is expected to perform at a high level the rest of his or her career." It also takes into account a player's sportsmanship and character.

Sorbello has enjoyed a career season in 2009-10, posting a record of 22-14 from the second singles position. She has six victories against nationally ranked opponents.

For Mike Patrick and Sonia Hahn-Patrick, this season has been anything but easy. Tennessee has suffered numerous injuries throughout the year, but managed to stay the course and posted a runner-up finish at the 2010 SEC Tournament.

Each regional award winner is now entered into the ITA National Awards competition in their respective category. Those awards will be announced on May 25.

Tennessee will be in action Friday at 1 p.m. against Winthrop in an NCAA Tournament First Round matchup at the Barksdale Varsity Tennis Courts in Knoxville, Tenn. The winner of that contest will face the winner of Friday morning's tilt between Indiana and Vanderbilt at 3 p.m. Saturday. On the line will be the right to advance to the NCAA Tennis Championships in Athens, Ga.

A live blog of Friday's Tennessee match will be available at UTLadyVols.com. Live scoring for both matches will also be available at the Tournament Central Page, located here.

Fans are reminded to follow the Lady Vols on Twitter at www.twitter.com/UTLadyVols

Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year: Mike Patrick/Sonia Hahn-Patrick, Tennessee
ITA Assistant Coach of the Year: Aleke Tsoubanos, Vanderbilt
ITA/Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership & Sportsmanship: Catherine Newman, Vanderbilt
ITA/Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship: Christine Johnston, Kentucky
ITA Senior Player of the Year: Caitlin Whoriskey, Tennessee
ITA Rookie Player of the Year: Leslie Hureau, Indiana
ITA Player to Watch: Maria Sorbello, Tennessee





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago