March 13, 2007

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- In only his fifth season on the job at the University of Tennessee, women's head track & field and cross country coach J.J. Clark today picked up the fifth Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year award of his career. He was chosen by his peers as the 2007 SEC Indoor Women's Track & Field Coach of the Year, the league announced Tuesday.

Clark, who guided his Lady Volunteers to victory at the SEC Indoor Championships in Lexington, Ky., two weekends ago and to a third-place finish at the NCAA Indoor Championships in Fayetteville, Ark., over the weekend, collected the second conference track & field honor to go along with three cross county awards. He also earned indoor track honors in 2005 and was chosen as the SEC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year in 2003, 2004 and 2005.

With this award, and his 2007 USTFCCCA South Region Women's Indoor Coach of the Year accolade that he was accorded last week, his total of career coach of the year awards reached 16, including 13 in his first 4 1/2 seasons in Knoxville.

Clark's tally of personal accomplishments as UT's skipper includes one national coach of the year award (2005), three regional kudos (indoors in 2005 & 2007; outdoors in 2005) and two conference honors (2005, 2007) in track & field and four regional citations (2002-05) and three conference nods (2003-05) in cross country. During that time, he has directed his troops to one NCAA Indoor title and four top-five national finishes, two conference indoor championships and a regional outdoor victory in track & field, and four regional crowns and three SEC trophies in cross country. He also had two SEC honors (1996-97) and one regional award (1997) as cross country coach at Florida from 1992 to 2001 while leading the Gators to victory twice in league (1996, 1997) and regional (1997, 1998) action.

Auburn's Kerron Stewart was named Female Runner of the Year, while Corey Martin was named Male Field Athlete of the Year. Two Florida freshmen were honored, as Shara Proctor was named Female Freshman Field Athlete of the Year, and Mike Morrison was named Male Freshman Field Athlete of the Year. Georgia's Ian Burrell was the Male Runner of the Year, and Patricia Sylvester was the Female Field Athlete of the Year. Latavia Thomas of LSU was named the Female Freshman Runner of the Year and Emmanuel Bore of Alabama was named the Male Freshman Runner of the Year. All post-season awards were determined by a vote of the conference coaches.

In addition, Arkansas' head track coach John McDonnell was named SEC Men's Indoor Coach of the Year after guiding the Razorbacks to the 2007 SEC Indoor title and a seventh-place outcome nationally.

2006-07 SEC Indoor Track Postseason Awards

SEC Women's Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year
J.J. Clark, Tennessee
SEC Men's Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year
John McDonnell, Arkansas
SEC Men's Runner of the Year
Ian Burrell, Georgia
SEC Women's Runner of the Year
Kerron Stewart, Auburn
SEC Men's Field Event Athlete of the Year
Corey Martin, Auburn
SEC Women's Field Event Athlete of the Year
Patricia Sylvester, Georgia
SEC Men's Freshman Runner of the Year
Emmanuel Bore, Alabama
SEC Women's Freshman Runner of the Year
Latavia Thomas, LSU
SEC Men's Freshman Field Event Athlete of the Year
Mike Morrison, Florida
SEC Women's Freshman Field Event Athlete of the Year
Shara Proctor, Florida





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago