Rob Patrick to be Inducted into Miami University Cradle of Coaches Association

Feb. 17, 2011

By Cameron Harris, Assistant Media Relations Director

UT Head Coach Rob Patrick

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - University of Tennessee volleyball coach Rob Patrick has been announced as one of six esteemed individuals to set to be inducted into Miami University's Cradle of Coaches Association. He will join the prestigious group on Sat., Feb. 26, along with Jerry Angelo, Elaine Hieber, Dave Jennings, Gary Quisno and Pam Wettig.

A 1983 graduate of Miami where he was a member of the football team and president of the club volleyball program, Patrick will join a list of legendary coaches such as Paul Brown, Ara Parseghian, Woody Hayes and Bo Schembechler.

"My time at Miami really had a great effect on me and really shaped my life," Patrick said. "Even though I started out in business and ended up in coaching, it really had a huge, positive effect on me. To be able to go back and share this with so many lifelong friends is going to be a tremendous honor.

"This award isn't about me though. It's all about the players. I've coached over 60 players here at Tennessee and a few more back at Stanford, and there is no way I would be even considered for such an honor as this one without their hard work and sacrifices over the years. I can't thank them enough."

Having recently completed his 14th season as the head coach at Tennessee, Patrick is the all-time winningest coach in Lady Vol volleyball history with a record of 292-150 (.661). A two-time National Coach of the Year, he has guided the Big Orange to NCAA Tournament appearances in six of the last seven seasons, including a run to the Final Four in 2005.

Currently the president of the American Volleyball Coaches Association, Patrick has coached 10 different student-athletes to a total of 17 All-America citations and was named the Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year and AVCA South Region Coach of the Year in both 2004 and 2008.

While at Rocky Top, Patrick has developed his own "Cradle of Coaches," as no fewer than 15 Lady Vol players and assistants have gone on to coach after their time at UT. Current examples include Indiana Head Coach Sherry Dunbar, Maryland Assistant Coach Mitch Kallick, Tulane Head Sand Volleyball Coach Amy (Morris) Williamson and North Florida Assistant Coach Carol Cheade, among others.

The members of the Cradle of Coaches Association Class of 2010-11 will be honored at halftime of the Miami men's basketball game on Sat., Feb. 26 before being inducted during a dinner at 6:30 p.m. that evening at the Shriver Center Multi-Purpose Room. Reservations for the dinner will be taken through 5 p.m. February 21 by calling the Miami Athletics Ticket Office at 513-529-HAWK (4295).

The Cradle of Coaches Association was established in 1971 to acknowledge the role Miamians have played in establishing Miami University as the Cradle of Coaches. While all Miami Alumni who go on to coach or those who have coached at Miami are considered part of the Cradle of Coaches, the Cradle of Coaches Association began inducting individuals into the Association in 1992 to further recognize their accomplishments. In 1999 and 2000, Miami's Hall of Fame Committee further developed criteria for induction into the Cradle of Coaches Association to be more inclusive of all sports. The following is the list of inductees:

Weeb Ewbank
Bob Kurz
Bill Narduzzi
John Pont

Paul Brown
Mel Knowlton
Ara Parseghian

Bill Arnsparger
Paul Dietzel
Jack Llewellyn

Jack Faulkner
Joe Codiano
Bill Mallory

John Brickels
Hal Paul
Dick Shrider

Jerry Hanlon
John McVay
Frank Shands

Carmen Cozza
Marvin Morehead
Ernie Plank

Dick Crum
Darrell Hedric
Lou Kaczmarek
Rich Voiers
Walter Alston
Earl Blaik
Leann Davidge
Woody Hayes
Raymond Ray
George Rider
William Rohr

Peggy Bradley-Doppes
Denny Marcin
Marvin McCollum
Nick Mourouzis
Jim Rose
Ron Zook

Rodger Cromer
Carol Clark Johnson
Clarence McDade
Ron Niekamp
Bo Schembechler

George Dales
George Gwozdecky
Danny Hall
Bob Kappes
Dr. Stephen R. Strome
Randall Whitehead

Terry Hoeppner
Randy Walker

Jerry Angelo
Elaine Hieber
Dave Jennings
Gary Quisno
Pam Wettig





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago