Rob Patrick Named AVCA President-Elect

Dec. 2, 2009

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - University of Tennessee Head Coach Rob Patrick will join the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Board of Directors next year, as the organization announced that he has been selected as its President-Elect on Wednesday.

"It's an honor to represent such a great group of people," said Patrick. "I'm very excited about working with the AVCA and the current board because it is a dynamic and forward-thinking group. There are some exciting initiatives that will be decided over the next few years and the AVCA will have a huge voice in shaping the future of our sport."

The AVCA also announced on Wednesday that Cody Hein of Chico State, Jodi Manore of Bedford High School in Michigan, and John Sample of Texas Advantage Volleyball were re-elected to the positions of NCAA Division II, High School and Club Representatives, respectively.

"It is exciting to welcome Rob Patrick to the AVCA Board of Directors as President-Elect," AVCA Executive Director Kathy DeBoer said. "His big picture perspective and excellent coaching pedigree will guarantee that the AVCA will continue to be guided by some of the best minds in our sport. Cody Hein, John Sample and Jodi Manore have all been consistent leaders and innovative contributors to our Board and we welcome them all for three more years."

Along with the four elected positions, Katy Meyer of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Arizona will replace Brenda Williams as the NAIA representative on the Board. The NAIA representative on the AVCA Board of Directors is appointed by the NAIA.

In addition, Ray Bechard, head coach at the University of Kansas, will move to the AVCA President position. Beth Launiere, head coach at the University of Utah, will shift to AVCA Past President, while Mary Wise, head coach at the University of Florida, will rotate off the Board.

All of the new positions will take effect January 1, 2010.

2010 AVCA Board of Directors
Ray BechardUniversity of KansasPresident
Beth LauniereUniversity of UtahPast President
Rob PatrickUniversity of TennesseePresident-Elect
Mark RosenUniversity of MichiganNCAA Women's Division I Representative
Cody HeinChico StateNCAA Women's Division II Representative
Becky SchmidtHope CollegeNCAA Women's Division III Representative
Katy MeyerEmbry-Riddle University (Ariz.)NAIA Representative
David RehrBlinn CollegeTwo-Year Colleges Representative
John SperawUniversity of California, IrvineMen's Representative
John SampleTexas Advantage VolleyballClub Representative
Jodi ManoreBedford (Mich.) High SchoolHigh School Representative
Tracy SmithTexas State University-San MarcosAssistant Coach Representative
Cecile ReynaudEducation and Publications Representative
T.J. MeagherLegislative Representative
Deitre Collins-ParkerSan Diego State UniversityMinority Coach Representative
Sandy VongAt-Large Representative
Kelly SheffieldUniversity of DaytonAwards Representative





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago